F1 2014 Brazilian Grand Prix Result

Nico Rosberg won a close fought Brazilian Grand Prix to narrow the gap in the driver’s world championship to cap a dominant weekend for the German driver at the Interlagos track.

Rosberg finished around 1.5s ahead of Hamilton, although the Briton had backed off for the last few corners after a spirited chase over the closing stages of the race that brought him within half a second of his main championship rival.

Hamilton Spins Off

rosberg wins 2014 Brazil Grand Prix

rosberg wins 2014 Brazil Grand Prix

It’s a case of “what if” for Hamilton, who spun off the track as he tried to close the gap on Rosberg as he led the race during the second round of pit-stops, but ultimately it’s unlikely that he’ll have any complaints about the result and will head to Abu Dhabi confident that he can wrap up his second world championship.

Behind the Mercedes duo, local hero Felipe Massa completed the podium despite an early stop go penalty and an embarrassing visit to the wrong pit during the race.  In what’s looking increasingly like it could be his last visit to the circuit where he won his 2009 World Championship, Jenson Button finished a strong 4th place after holding off a strong challenge from Sebastian Vettel.

Alonso, Raikkonen, Hulkenberg, Magnussen and Bottas rounded out the top 10.

On the podium there were some fairly odd scenes as Hamilton appeared to walk off after Piquet asked about the whereabouts of his girlfriend rather than the race, but eventually the British driver gave his opinion:

It was great to race Nico and it is brilliant to see Felipe up here on the podium. There is now everything to play for in the final race in Abu Dhabi.

Just 2 drivers failed to finish the race.  Daniel Ricciardo pulled into the pits after a suspension failure going into the first corner on lap 39, while Romain Grosjean stopped out on track on lap 63 following a reasonable performance.

2014 Brazil Grand Prix Full Results

  1. Rosberg (Mercedes)
  2. Hamilton (Mercedes)
  3. Massa (Williams)
  4. Button (McLaren)
  5. Vettel (Red Bull)
  6. Alonso (Ferrari)
  7. Raikkonen (Ferrari)
  8. Hulkenberg (Force India)
  9. Magnussen (McLaren)
  10. Bottas (Williams)
  11. Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
  12. Maldonado (Lotus)
  13. Vergne (Toro Rosso)
  14. Gutierrez (Sauber)
  15. Perez (Force India)
  16. Sutil (Sauber)
  17. Grosjean (Lotus) (ref)
  18. Ricciardo (Red Bull) (ret)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>